December 21, 2011

2011 Women's All-America team

(l. to r.) Forward of the Year Abigail Loar, Midfielder of the Year Erica Suter, Defender of the Year Kelsey Gorman, and Goalkeeper of the Year Amanda Davis.

The 2011 season has come to a close, and now that the new men's and women's champions have been crowned, the second annual All-America teams are ready for release. This year, the teams were chosen by staff, Division III soccer coaches and sports information directors from a field of over 600 nominations.

The 2011 women's Coach of the Year is Scott Frey of Messiah College. Coach Frey and his Falcons took their third national title in four years earlier this month in San Antonio. It was also the program's fourth title in seven years. Frey has led the Falcons to 12 straight NCAA post-season tournaments, and eight Final Four events. The Falcons have also won 11 Commonwealth Conference titles. Frey has been named the NSCAA Mid-Atlantic Region Coach of the Year in 2002, 2004, and 2005, and the National Coach of the Year in 2005 and 2009.

Senior Abigail Loar of Trinity University (Texas) is the Forward of the Year for women's soccer. Loar, a Third-Team All-America pick in 2010, was the 2011 SCAC Offensive Player of the Year. Loar is Trinity's all-time leader in scoring with 58 goals, 21 of those goals coming this season. She also added 11 assists. Loar is third in SCAC history for total points, and is tied for sixth in goals scored and assists.

Johns Hopkins senior Erica Suter earned the Midfielder of the Year honors. Suter was the Centennial Conference Player of the Year after leading the conference in goals scored. She scored 19 goals this season, while establishing a new single-season record 15 assists. Suter holds the single season assists and points records with 53, and also holds three offensive career records as wells with 55 goals and 31 assists for 141 career points.

Senior Kelsey Gorman of Messiah College is the Defender of the Year. Gorman earned First Team All-Commonwealth honors and was also named the Commonwealth Conference co-Player of the Year. Gorman, anchoring a back line that allowed only five goals this season, was named to the All-Tournament Team for the 2011 NCAA Championships and the tournament's Most Outstanding Defensive Player. On the way to the Final Four, Gorman was awarded the Commonwealth Championships MVP honors after helping lead the Falcons to a fifth straight conference title.

William Smith senior Amanda Davis is the Goalkeeper of the Year after leading her team to the national semifinals. At the end of the season, Davis staked a 0.14 goals against average statistic, the best in Division III soccer in that catagory. Davis, a four year All-Conference selection, allowed just three goals in 22 games this year. Davis recorded a .912 save percentage with a 20-1-1 record. In addition to her record-setting GAA of 0.14, Davis also set the school record for 20 victories in a season, with 13 shutouts.

Forward of the Year: Abigail Loar (Sr.), Trinity (Texas)
Midfielder of the Year: Erica Suter (Sr.), Johns Hopkins
Defender of the Year: Kelsey Gorman (Sr.), Messiah
Goalkeeper of the Year: Amanda Davis (Sr.), William Smith
Pos. Player Year School
F Abigail Loar * Sr. Trinity (Texas)
F Jamie Orewiler * Sr. Wheaton (Ill.)
F Erin Hench Sr. Messiah
M Erica Suter Sr. Johns Hopkins
M Alex Brandt * Jr. Messiah
M Brittany Klippstein * Sr. Lynchburg
D Kelsey Gorman Sr. Messiah
D Alyse DiCenzo Sr. William Smith
D Brittany Vacca * Sr. Hardin-Simmons
D Lauren Gorodetsky So. Emory
GK Amanda Davis Sr. William Smith
Pos. Player Year School
F Corrine Wulf * Jr. Messiah
F Rachael Palladino Jr. Ithaca
M Kathryn Nathan Jr. Amherst
M Keri Shannon Jr. Wheaton (Ill.)
M Whitney Fray Jr. William Smith
M Sinead Vaughn Sr. Cal Lutheran
D Laura Karsten * Jr. Wheaton (Ill.)
D Katheryne Lawson Sr. Washington and Lee
D Beverly Hoath Sr. Lynchburg
D Jessica Hnatiuk Sr. Johns Hopkins
D Allison Foy Jr. TCNJ
GK Rebecca Roth * Sr. Hardin-Simmons
Pos. Player Year School
F Katie Kuykendall * Jr. Hardin-Simmons
F Sam Barker So. Adrian
F Emily Hinchman * Jr. Illinois Wesleyan
M Emily Jorgens Fr. Trinity (Texas)
M Lee Ann Felder Sr. Washington U.
M Jackie Moscardelli Sr. Springfield
D Jill Kochanek Sr. Amherst
D Courtney Cramer So. Hardin-Simmons
D Jessica Taratino Sr. William Smith
D Jess Dingman Sr. Cal Lutheran
GK Stephanie Vega Jr. New Paltz State
* earned All-America status in 2010
Scott Frey, Messiah (23-0-1) - 2011 National Champion
No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.