December 6, 2014

Undefeated Lynchburg wins women's title in PK shootout

More news about: Lynchburg women's team

Lynchburg celebrates their first ever soccer national title in Kansas City, MO.
Photo by John McCormick

In the women's national title match, top-ranked and undefeated Lynchburg grabbed their first ever national championship as they defeated Williams in penalties. No. 6 Williams was also striving for their first ever title, as both sides could claim the part of Final Four freshmen. But after a scoreless 90 minutes and two overtime periods, it was Lynchburg who was able to claim the trophy, winning the penalty kick shootout 4-3.'s Tournament Central

Williams looked the more dangerous side in the early going with Audrey Thomas especially forcing Lynchburg's backline to be on thier toes.  Meanwhile the Eph's defense seemed to have the answers for Lynchburg's dynamic attack.  But as the first half neared the midway point, the Hornets had a good stretch that saw Angela Bosco and Dessi Dupuy send shots goalward. Momentum would shift back to the Ephs who created the more dangerous chances before halftime, but none would find the back of the net.

Williams senior Lilly Wellenbach and Lynchburg senior Dessi Dupuy fight for control in the Championship match.
Photo by John McCormick

Williams started the second half more brightly, but it wasn't long before Lynchburg began to look the more likely to break the stalemate.  However, both defenses were up to the task and held the game scoreless through the end of regulation.  Both teams would create some chances in extra time, but probably the best two fell to Lynchburg's Kelly Smith late in the second overtime, as she first hit the crossbar on a chip over the keeper to the far left corner and then forced a save a few moments later.  In penalties, Lynchburg was perfect through four shots, and were champions when Williams missed for the second time in the fifth round.

Box Score




2014 NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Championship All-Tournament Team

Julie Govederika, Illinois Wesleyan
Mary Kate Schmidt, Illinois Wesleyan
Emily Nagourney, Johns Hopkins
Alaina Arthur, Johns Hopkins
Mai Mitsuyama, Williams
Maddie Swarr, Williams
Audrey Thomas, Williams
Lilly Wellenbach, Williams
Angela Bosco, Lynchburg
Marina Clark, Lynchburg
Emily Maxwell, Lynchburg
Tess Frelick, Lynchburg

Most Outstanding Offensive Player: Audrey Thomas, Williams
Most Outstanding Defensive Player: Emily Maxwell, Lynchburg

No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.