November 9, 2011

Six Blugold Women's Soccer Players Named to WIAC All-Time Team

More news about: UW-Eau Claire women's team

MADISON, Wis. ( - Six UW-Eau Claire women's soccer players have been named to the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference's All-Time Team.

Blugolds named to the team were Kari Blasczyk, Liz Kooistra, Allie Rivard, Allison Smith, Anna Talbot and Becky Westbrock. More information is below.

View Announcement on

MADISON, Wis.--The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) announced today the Women's Soccer All-Time Team that will be recognized in conjunction with the conference's upcoming Centennial Celebration. All-Time Teams are being selected in those men's and women's sports that have been classified as "championship" sports at some point during the conference's 100-year history. Additional teams will be released on a weekly basis throughout much of the 2011-12 academic year.

Women's Soccer All-Time Team
Name School Years Participated  
Kari Blasczyk (Appleton, WI/East) UW-Eau Claire 1997-2000 More Info
Liz Kooistra (Lakeville, MN/Lakeville) UW-Eau Claire 2005-08 More Info
Allie Rivard (Plymouth, MN/Wayzata) UW-Eau Claire 2005-08 More Info
Allison Smith (Bloomington, MN/Jefferson) UW-Eau Claire 2005-08 More Info
Anna Talbot (Apple Valley, MN/Eastview) UW-Eau Claire 2004-07 More Info
Becky Westbrock (Oakdale, MN/N. St. Paul) UW-Eau Claire 2003-06 More Info
Becky Brem UW-Stevens Point 1992-95  
Jenny Bruce UW-Stevens Point 2000-03  
Sarah Carlson UW-River Falls 2003-05  
Mary Jean Cornelius UW-Stevens Point 2007-10  
Kim Cwik UW-Stevens Point 1994-95, 97-98  
Margaret Domka UW-Stevens Point 1998-2000  
Kelly Fink UW-Stevens Point 2001-03  
Emily Gerber UW-Whitewater 2009-present  
Carrie Gilbert UW-Oshkosh 1999-2002  
Michelle Jacob UW-Stevens Point 1998-2001  
Marie Muhvic UW-Stevens Point 1998-2000  
Kristen Nokleby UW-La Crosse 1992-95  
Ashley Peterson UW-River Falls 2003-06  
Amanda Prawat UW-Stevens Point 2005-08  
Janie Probst UW-Stevens Point 1992-95  
Tara Schmitt UW-Stevens Point 2001-04  
Charisse Simcakowski UW-Stevens Point 1992-95  
Jennifer Tischaefer UW-La Crosse 1996-99  
Women's Soccer All-Time Coach:  Sheila Miech (UW-Stevens Point) (1987-present)


WIAC Commissioner Gary Karner remarked that this has been an extremely difficult process given the 100-year span and incomparable success the conference has experienced in most of its sports. Karner noted that in some sports, even achieving All-American status didn't necessarily guarantee an athlete a spot on the team. He also acknowledged that while disagreement is inherent and expected whenever there is a selection of an all-time anything (be it a team, restaurant or movie), the conference nonetheless felt it important to recognize student-athletes and coaches who have contributed to the success of the most accomplished Division III conference in NCAA history.

The student-athlete representation on each team has relied heavily on input provided by the sports information director from each of the nine WIAC campuses, while the process for selecting the head coach(es) for each team also includes input from a panel of media representatives. The number of individuals selected per team varies depending upon the nature of the sport itself as well as the number of years the sport has/had been sponsored within the conference.

The conference has also elected to establish a special "legacy" category to recognize those student-athletes and coaches who had extremely accomplished careers but competed during an era(s) when the compilation of statistical data was spotty at best and/or the style of play at that time does not translate for comparative purposes to the stats prevalent in the modern era. The WIAC "Legacy Team" will also be named at a later date.

All-Time Team members will receive certificates from the conference and it is hoped that most, if not all, of the recipients will be in attendance or represented at the WIAC Centennial Banquet to be held at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison on August 4, 2012.

More information on the activities and events associated with the WIAC Centennial can be accessed via the WIAC website at

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is the proud sponsor of the WIAC Centennial Celebration

No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.